EDID Central Working Group

Western created the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, (EDI), Advisory Council in March 2021 as part of its commitment in response to the final report of the Anti-Racism Working Group (ARWG), struck in 2019, which made a series of recommendations accepted by Western in 2020.  

The EDID Central Working Group has been formed to provide advice to the AVP-EDI and share knowledge and wise practices across Western’s faculties, administrative units and student organizations to promote equity, anti-racism and accountability.   


It is recognized by Western University that there is a collective responsibility to represent and further the needs and interests of equity deserving groups. The EDI Central Working Group and the University agree to create an atmosphere of collaboration and cooperation to achieve this goal.   

The EDI Central Working Group is established to pursue the following objectives: 

  1. The Working Group is responsible for
    1. creating opportunities to share information and equity, diversity, inclusion and decolonization (EDID) initiatives across the University; 
    2. review anti-racism, anti-oppression, accessibility and EDID work in progress; 
    3. review wise practices across campus as well as from other institutions; 
    4. as needed, help facilitate the engagement of others on campus, including subject matter experts, individuals with lived experience, etc.;  
    5. manage or delegate management of working sub-groups if needed; 
    6. making recommendations on implementing EDID and equity, diversity, inclusion and Indigeneity (EDII) initiatives more broadly across the University with a focus on actions/initiatives for achieving greater equity, diversity, accessibility, and inclusion in the University’s faculty, staff and student populations. 

Membership and Procedure

  1. The membership of the Council shall be:
    1. Associate Vice-President of Equity Diversity and Inclusion (AVP-EDI)
    2. Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Indigenous Initiatives (AVP-OII) 
    3. A representative from the Dean’s leadership team from each of the Faculties [as determined by the Dean] 
    4. A representative from Western Research [as determined by the VPR]   
    5. A staff representative [as determined by UWOSA]  
    6. A Staff representative [as determined by the PMA] 
    7. A faculty representative [as determined by election by UWOFA]   
    8. A senior leader from the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies [as determined by the Vice-Provost (SGPS)] 
    9. A student representative from the University Students’ Council executive team [as determined by the USC executive team] 
    10. A student representative from the Society of Graduate Students’ executive team [as determined by the SOGS executive team]  
    11. A senior leader representative from each of the Affiliated University Colleges [as determined by the President of the respective Affiliated University College] 


Other representatives may be invited on an as-needed basis or for special presentations. 

The AVP-EDI and the AVP-OII shall serve as Co-Chairs of the Working Group.  

The Working Group shall normally meet monthly and at such other times as the Co-Chairs may determine. A minimum of 25% of the members of the Working Group shall constitute a quorum.